Former Ice Works
An iconic building in need of restoration & reuse
This tall, imposing building, dominating views across Newlyn harbour, is located opposite the fish market, on what was originally the waterfront before the construction of the present road known as The Strand.
Built in 1907, the Former Ice Works’ granite and brick structure incorporates remains of the earlier quay wall and a previous building (an iron foundry) visible in late 19th century photographs.
Owned by W Stevenson & Sons Ltd since the 1970s, it continued to supply Newlyn’s fishing fleet until 2005/6, when it was replaced by a modern flake-ice works.
In 2017 the Former Ice Works was designated a Listed Building, owing to its architectural and historic importance, highlighted as:
- its striking yet functional design and character as a landmark feature central to this fishing community;
- its unaltered layout and the survival of early and mid-20th century ice-making machinery;
- it being an important component of the expanding early 20th century fishing industry and incorporation of earlier structures with a related function;
- the ice works site and the adjacent Gwavas Quay having been a focal point of the pilchard industry in Newlyn from the 17th to the 20th century, made famous by the paintings of the Newlyn School of artists from the late 19th century;
- its contribution to the historic Street-an-Nowan quarter of Newlyn, and relationship to other listed buildings.
You can read the full Listed Building description here.
Two other sites have been identified as potentially forming part of the Newlyn FISH Centre experience – Newlyn Old Quay (medieval harbour and Listed Building) and Sandy Cove, where the Ocean Pride Restoration Project is located.
Newlyn Old Quay
Dating from before 1435, with various later alterations, this curved quay of massive granite rubble construction encloses Newlyn’s original medieval harbour.
A Listed Building, owing to its historic importance, Old Quay is the perfect location for accommodating a fleet of traditional fishing vessels, like the Cornish Maritime Trust lugger, Barnabas (SS634), already moored there.
Quay owners, Newlyn Pier and Harbour Commissioners, are keen for this to happen and, as such, Old Quay could be a heritage facility linked with Newlyn FISH Centre.
Ocean Pride Restoration Project at Sandy Cove
The Ocean Pride (PZ134) is the only Newlyn-built counter-stern lugger left in the country. An iconic fishing vessel, built at Peakes Yard in 1919, she has been owned and skippered by several well-known families from Mousehole and Newlyn.
Under tarpaulin at Sandy Cove, to the south of the harbour, the Ocean Pride Restoration Project is seeking to return her to her former glory. It may be mutually beneficial to link this project with Newlyn FISH Centre.